Park Gate Holiday Cottages
Stables Exterior Thumbnail Stables Front Thumbnail Stables Kitchen Thumbnail Stables Dining Area Thumbnail Stables Lounge Thumbnail Stables Twin Downstairs Thumbnail Stables Double West Wing Thumbnail Stables Play Area Thumbnail Stables Tennis Court Thumbnail

Guest testimonials

At The Stables we are more than happy to hear about your holiday in North Devon. If you have anything to say please write it in the cottage's guest book or send us an email.

Below are a selection of our previous guests comments and suggestions.

October 27 – November 1 2013. The Bradley Family. Salisbury.

We had a lovely five days staying here with cousins and grandparents. The house is great and we especially loved the games room. Would recommend ‘The Tarka Trail’ and the go-karting centre. House was perfect and loved playing games round the big table. What a lovely place – as soon as we arrived, we felt so at home. So many lovely touches, our room felt like a hotel room! We all had a fabulous time. Thank you! We don’t want to leave!

October 13 2013. Border and Jervis Family. Middlesex.

We came here to celebrate my sixtieth birthday. What a wondering venue, well equipped and very much a ‘home from home’. A great escape, hope to come back for another visit.

October 4 2013. The Barker Clan. Yorkshire.

We came down from Yorkshire to see our brother who was captured by a Devon girl fifteen years ago! What a fantastic place this is to stay and have a family reunion. We also had great weather – blazing sunshine in October! We will return.

August 28 2013. The Grahams. Hampshire.

Two weeks in a super house and in a super location. There were six adults and five children for the first week and down to four adults and three children for the second week. The weather was mostly kind to us and we all loved the beaches. We all had lots of fun. Superb walking here too, especially the coastal walks. The house was large enough to us all to have space and to congregate as a family. Thank you for making our holiday.

August 22 2013. The Northern Peltits. Worcestershire.

Had a fabulous extended family holiday. Lots of space, wonderfully furnished – the perfect holiday house Loved the location too – idyllic but within easy reach of the beaches. We hope to return one day. Thank you so much. We had a great holiday, it was fab!

August 1 2013. Robertsons. Cardiff.

Lovely time! Made very good use of the games room and tennis court. Great for everyone to have their own space and such lovely space! Nice to have the Wi-Fi too. Lynmouth/Lynton a good day out. Saunton Sands looked beautiful but car park full by lunch time.

July 26 2013. Findlater Family. London.

Had an idyllic time in the sunshine. Children enjoyed playing in the garden together. Highlights – Tarka Trail bicycle ride, beach and good food. Where better for an English summer?

May 31 2013. Ward Family. Staffordshire.

Perfect setting for a seventieth birthday house party. Four generation celebrating together. Wonderful time had by all.

May 17 – 24 2013. Brain and Wendy Curtis. Devon.

Wonderful accommodation. Perfect for our family birthday celebration. Thank you for the wine and the very cordial welcome. Everyone was impressed with the bedrooms and Wendy was especially impressed with the kitchen. We all enjoyed this fabulous home. Thank you so much.

April 26 – 29 2013. Hatchmans, Hilliers, Thompsons, Newhams, Wrays. Hampshire and Wiltshire.

Your fabulous holiday home certainly delivers the ‘wow’ factor. Beautifully furnished, plenty of well thought out accommodation, and very well equipped. The pictures on your website really don’t do the place justice. We really regularly stay at large properties as part of a family get together, and yours is one of the best we have visited! We love the clever use of lighting and the elegant furniture. Had a great weekend, and thank you for being so welcoming and accommodation! With thanks!

December 28 2012. Boswell and Hughes Family and Eddie. West Sussex.

What a delightful house for three generations to spend Christmas week. Some of us didn’t want to go home. We all voted this as our Best Christmas House to date – a pretty tall order! Many thanks!

October 5 2012. Lewis, Holland, Brett Families. Reading.

Brilliant accommodation, brilliant countryside views, brilliant position for all the West and North coastline – brilliant! We all agree with the previous comment about ‘Squires Fish and Chips’ in Braunton – food, service, staff, and place – brilliant!! Great coastal walking. Also handy to have a Tesco and Sainsbury’s supermarket close (this side of Barnstaple). Bet this is a great place in summer! Brilliant!!

September 2 2012. Toni’s Party. Staffordshire.

Thank you so much for being so accommodation to our large party. We had a wonderful time. Cottage is perfect in every way. Thank you.

September 2 2012. Toni’s Party. Staffordshire.

Thank you, we have spent a wonderful weekend in your beautiful home. You have thought of everything. A chilling, relaxing weekend. We will come again!

August 17 2012. Amanda and Andrew. William and Alec. Derbyshire and Hampshire.

This is a wonderful place. So comfortable and is very impressive. We love the fresh flowers, the en-suite bedrooms - no fighting for the best room – all were splendid. I don’t know whether it was intentional, but one can lie in the bath with a glass of wine watching TV. The children had some scary, but entertaining darts matches and I even managed to persuade them to play a little tennis. The weather was mixed but good enough to have several beach expeditions. We set up the Saunton Sands beach Olympics which the Joly family triumphed, Gold Medals all round.

June 8 – 11 2013. Makepeace and Davey Families. South-West England.

Wonderful place, cleaning and spacious – would like have stayed all week. Great place for a family gathering to celebrate birthdays. Visited Croyde, Baggy Point and surfer and paddled on a sunny Saturday. Visited Arlington (Have a carriage museum) on a damp Sunday. Enjoyed the table tennis and garden very much. Thank you!

May 25 – June 10 2012. Macdonald’s, Toseland’s, Worrad’s, Stephen’s. Leicester and Glasgow.

Such a fantastic house. We have stayed in quite a few throughout Devon and Cornwall and we all agree that this is the best. Amazing view and excellent grounds. Loved the tennis court. Everything feels very relaxed and is very sorry to leave. Thank you!

June 2012. Phillips, O’Brien and Drodz Family. Derby.

Absolutely fabulous house and perfect for a large family gathering. Thank you for helping to organise a Ruby Wedding Dinner. What a lovely surprise! Weather iffy but we managed two barbeques on the terrace with the fabulous views – wow! We have a great time! Thank you!

May 18 – 25 2012. Hilary, John, Lucy, Nick, Noah, Sophie, Nick and Harry.

Thank you for a love holiday in the perfect location. A beautiful house to accommodate, adults, grandparents and children. We had such fun!

April 27 – 30 2012. Jane, Roger, Sylvia, Kelvin, Denise, Derek, Sandra, John, Sure and Chad. Worcester.

Wonderful accommodation and so very well appointed. The games room was a useful room the indecent weather! In this sixteen years we’ve taken breaks as a gang, this is one of the best places we’ve stayed at.

April 20 – 27 2012. Warner, Beck, Clements, Sharp, Murphy and Rogg Family. Hempstead.

Wow factor when we arrived, lovely touch with the welcome pack. One of the best houses we have stayed in over the last twelve years. Clean, lovely bedding, furnishings and finishing touches, so nice that all six rooms are equally nice. Our favourite place to eat was the Hunters Lodge – you must try the fish pie – wonderful. Best fish and chips, ‘Squires’ at Braunton. Fish was amazing! Places we enjoyed the most – Woolacombe, Appledore. If it’s wet – Dartington Glass is a must, the tour was very interesting, shop was good. We had mixed weather, but still managed to get out every day. House felt like home, not loads of rules like some have stayed at. Didn’t manage to use the tennis court, but enjoyed games room, puzzle and outside with the wonderful views, watching the house and her foal and the large variety of birds. Would love to bring my family, they would love it. Thank you very much.

April 13 – 20 2012. Haworth, Hughes, Lucas, Powers Families. Warwickshire.

A week-long stay for Rachel’s 40th Birthday. The house was fabulous – all we wished for when we booked. Under floor heating much appreciated by the girls; games room by the boys and the slide and newly born, and the foal by our two year old daughter. Thank you very much!

March 16 – 19 2012. Ashlen Family.

A beautiful house in every aspect. Fully appreciated by all of the family. It is so comfortable. All the children (and Grandpa) made full use of the games room and the tennis court. Thank you.

February 10 -13 2012. The Walkers. London.

Some stunning walks on Exmoor and lovely to come back and relax in this beautiful house in the evening and play some ping pong. A lovely spot and beautiful barn!

December 2011. Monro – Morrison Family. West London.

A wonderful house which more than made up for the wet wild and windy weather, and helped us see in 2012 with comfort and joy! We’ve all love to come back – in the summer next time perhaps?

November 26 – 29 2011. The SWW’s. Walkers from West Sussex.

We did come again! Couldn’t resist returning to this beautiful, comfortable house for a second visit. As lovely as we all remember. Games room a big bonus. Wonderful countryside, especially the coastal path.

November 2011. The Pearson Family.

What a fantastic week we’ve had, and an equally fantastic house! We have all had a fabulous weekend break here for Freddie’s 60th birthday celebrations. Maybe we’ll be back for the next special occasion in the Pearson Family. Thank you!

September 16 – 19 2011. Bowles family. Berkshire.

Beautiful house – beautiful area. Décor, facilities and view perfect – shame about the changeable weather! Every bedroom being en-suite a huge bonus. Dining room table huge and seats everyone comfortably. Thank you for a fantastic weekend away and be prepared as we will be back!!

August 2011. Steve and Beverly Shurety.

We all felt immediately ‘at home’ and comfortable in this beautiful house. A wonderful place to have a family celebration.

August 2011. Steve and Tracy Martin.

Your house certainly has the ‘wow’ factor. We have had a fantastic time here, the house is beautiful, a perfect place for our family celebration.

August 2011. Brain and Kathleen France.

This long weekend was a very pleasant surprise, we had no idea where we were going, we a wonderful place to stay. We have loved every minute of it, having our whole family with us to celebrate our Golden Wedding. The house is so lovely, we love it. Thank you for the wine!

August 2011. Watcham Family. Cornwall.

Thank you – everything was just what we needed and our Ruby Wedding has been celebrated in style. Tennis Court was a great bonus and even the weather was kind. Shall save up ready for our Golden Wedding!

July 2011. Acott, Murphy, Kearns, Hoatson Families. Whitstable.

We have had a wonderful time at the Stables. The weather has been good with a few great days of hot sunshine. The Stables are beautiful and we all look forward to more visits. Favourite places to visit are Saunton Sands and Lynton and Lynmouth. Tennis and Games room very entertaining. Thank you!

June 10 – 17 2011. Shackleton Family. Australia.

Fabulous house for us to be able to host friends on our holiday over from Australia. The size and ambience of the place made it easy to ensure everyone had a relaxed and enjoyable stay. Truly admire the décor and design. Made plenty of use of the play area, terrace and lots of great meal around the wonderful dining table. Thank you so much. We have already planning our next visit. Just need to book the place tickets so we can come back!!!!

May 27 – June 3 2011. Frasers, Booths and Pickard’s. London, Wakefield and Nottingham.

A beautiful house, lots of space for all of us and gorgeous views. We all had a great time despite rainy weather for much of the week. Favourite places – Saunton Beach, Tarka Trail bike ride and ‘The Rock’ pub for lunch. Thanks for a fantastic week.

May 20 – 27 2011. Webb Family. Chippenham.

Lovely place to stay for three generations of family celebrating a sixtieth birthday. Games room helped keep the kids happy when the weather wasn’t great. Kitchen, dining room and living area all fantastic and were very well used! Great location for trips into Barnstaple and surrounding area – especially the Big Sheep, Croyde Bay and Sand dunes at Braunton which were all favourite. Thanks!

May 13 – 16 2011. Wroughton Girls Weekend. Wroughton, Wiltshire.

Lovely home for a girl’s weekend! Loved the décor and luxurious bed linen and towels. And especially the huge dining table! Weather and walks met expectations. Friendly locals, enjoyed the WI charity plant sale at the Village Hall on Saturday. Good food at the Instow Arms, Instow. Adorable family of ten ducklings on the pond, and fell in love with your pony. Fab time – thank you!

April 22 2011. The Parks and the Willeys. Winchester.

Weather – wow! Scenery – wow! House – double wow!! Unfortunately it was sunny every day, so we weren’t in the house much! Favourite beach, Woolacombe. Favourite day, boat trip to London, ice cream, tea. Favourite restaurant, The Quay, Ilfracombe. Recommend Blue Fin tour to Lunch – lots of wildlife. Children loved the games room, all loved tennis, and we all loved BBQ in tropical heat and star gazing. Thanks for a fab week (and the treats on arrival).

April 15 2011. Aslett Family. Sherbourne.

Our second visit to the Stable for ‘Family Christmas’!! It has been a lovely experience, we’ve all enjoyed having the space to be together as well as having the space to be quiet and relaxed when needed. The facilities have been wonderful and we have ‘especially’ made very good use of the kitchen equipment. We love having access to a games room and the tennis courts and the terrace area has been a lovely space to partake of a cocktail or two (or three!!). Thanks for making our family holiday here special.

November 5 – 8 2010. Owen Family. Gloucestershire.

What a lovely place to stay. Nice and clean and comfortable. Everything we could possibly want and made our short break. The under-floor heating was especially appreciated by two of our chillier mortals. Superb views across the countryside and we were lovely with the weather being early November.

October 29 – November 5 2010. Chandas, Flenley and Stewart Family. West Midlands.

This is a beautiful home from home – you have a very stylish and comfy place which has given us the perfect base to celebrate our children’s twenty first birthdays. We’ve had some very special, guilty times together – thank you!!

October 29 2010. Killick Family. Heighinton.

A wonderful holiday in a wonderful property. You should be proud of what you have achieved with the house, it delivered everything that we could have wanted. Some fantastic scenery and coastal valleys.

August 13 – 20 2010. The Benjamin Family. London.

Absolutely fantastic accommodation. We ALL had a brilliant time, just wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you so much for everything.

August 6 – 13 2010. Lee, Edginton, Davies Families. West Sussex.

Fantastic house that worked really well to share. Lovely location. We had a great time. The games room was really good and we really enjoyed the tennis court. I really enjoyed the swings and climbing equipment. I had a fantastic time here. I really enjoyed staying here, I liked having the big television, the big fridge and everything loved the ice cubes. I felt really welcome here and I love to come back.

July 30 – August 6 2010. Oakes, Crowley, Gray, M’Carthy Families. Coldfield.

Simply splendid. The rooms and facilities work so well that from the first moment were at HOME and enjoying our holiday to the fullest extent possible. It was living in a show home.

July 23 – 30 2010. Brown, Snell, Grossman Families. Wales.

The enthusiastic comments about the house and furnishings and ambiance made by earlier visitors are entirely justified. What was priceless for us was the space to enclose our four families for the celebration of three birthdays and two wedding anniversaries. The entire family meets rarely and it is always memorable. Thank you so much!

July 10 2010. Joe and Liz McCann Family. Surrey.

The quality and comfort of the house are self-evident. This is patently not a holiday home as much as a home from home. Every effort has been made to ensure a comfortable stay in beautiful surroundings and it is nice that so many other people feel it is ‘theirs’. In our opinion (from six months to sixty-eight years) you undue-promise and exceed expectation. We wish you continued success, with many thanks.

June 28 2010. Summers Party. Bristol.

Thanks for a fantastic weekend. The house is gorgeous. Everything had an amazing time and we’re planning our return trip as we leave. Thank you for the welcome pack – much appreciated. Jimmer and Ems were the table tennis champs!

May 17 – 21 2010. Heal, Bowers Family. York.

Lovely standard of accommodation with all the room you could wish for on a family holiday. Idyllic Devon setting. Our weather allowed us to make the most of it. Thank you for making these wonderful facilities available to be enjoyed. Everyone should try Hocking ice-cream it’s amazing.

April 16 – 19 2010. The Hudson Family. Oxfordshire.

Four generation of us have had a truly wonderful time. The weather has been so sunny and warm that we made full use of the patio. Stunning house, facilities first class. Thank you for a memorable stay.

January 12 – 15 2010. Donald and Brooks Families.

Great venue for an extended family weekend. Spacious and comfortable, everyone had a wonderful weekend. Many thanks.

October 30 – November 2 2009. The Cooks and the Fords.

What a stunning house set in a beautiful location. We were all amazed at the very high standard of the accommodation – beautifully decorated and spotless. We appreciated each having our own en-suites and the four children appreciated the box of toys and puzzles which were well-used. We had an enjoyable day cycling along the Tarka Cycle Trail and spent a very windy morning on Croyde beach followed by a delicious lunch in the Thatch in Croyde Village. Thanks again and we hope to definitely visit here in the near future!!

October 22 – 30 2009. Aslett. Somerset.

A wonderfully well-equipped and beautifully presented holiday home. We would all love to live here for ever! The games room has been well used and we even managed to use the outdoor area one sunny afternoon whilst sipping cocktails and admiring the scenery. We have loved being together but we have liked the space in the house that meant we could relax in our own rooms. We have especially liked the en-suite bathrooms. The children have enjoyed using the smoothie maker – and the ice maker! Many thanks from us all.

October 12 – 19 2009. Pummel Family. Essex.

Attention to detail was very much appreciated – it was like living in an Ideal Home magazine. A must is Croyde Bay! Highly Recommended for eating is ‘Squires’ fish and chip restaurant in Braunton. The wine was also a nice touch on arrival. So much to see and do that we ran out of days. Mind you we couldn’t move much after our ‘in home’ tennis tournaments and twenty eight miles bike ride!! The bike hire shop by the station was brilliant – really helpful staff. We really enjoyed Arlington House, Rosemoor Gardens and Clovelly. Thanks for a fabulous stay!! I’m sure we’ll be back. Thanks so much from all of us.

October 2 – 9 2009. Macleman, Cooper, Shirley, Saunders and MacGowan Families. Bucks.

What a stunning house and location – we have all been impressed by the high standard of the accommodation and it’s fixtures and fittings. We have relaxed, dined, bathed and slept in complete comfort. We recommend Lynton and Lynmouth, Mortehoe, RHS Rosemoor Gardens, Arlington Court and Dunster Castle. Visit the Dartington Crystal Factory cycle the Tarka Trail, forget the Brannan Pottery (it closed five years ago). Eat out at The Custom House, Barnstaple, The Hunters Arms, Chichester Arms, Ship Inn, Half Moon – all good for lunches. Tawstock Church is worth a visit – it’s an interesting building and we were made very welcome at their Harvest Festival Service. Thank you very much.

September 25 – 28 2009. Francis, Rowe, Devlins, Barns, Fords, Jenkins, Carpenters. Surrey.

Wonderful stay in such a beautiful house with incredible views. We all gave it the ‘wow’ factor when we arrived. The twelve of us spent an enjoyable few days with lovely weather. Visited Lynton and Lynmouth, Rosemoor, Hartland Abbey and Quay. Enjoyed a very amusing evening here around the wonderful table with a ‘murder mystery’ dinner which all the girls catered for. We will be back!!

September 12 – 14 2009. Youngs – Banks Wedding Party. Braunton and Brighton.

Thank you so much for a perfect finish to a most perfect wedding! We had a magical day, made better by being able to stay with all our friends in incredible accommodation. Maybe we’ll be back for wedding number three!!

August 21 – 28 2009. Whites. Kettles and Ross. Bristol, Bedford, Poolesworth and Essex.

Had a great week in this fantastic house and location. House has everything we needed including colossal hairy spiders! A great first holiday for our fourteen week old twin girls.

August 14 – 21 2009. Bristow and Hartley-James Family. Oxfordshire and Lincolnshire.

Beautiful accommodation with so much space. We’ve all enjoyed the games room and the tennis court has been great. Lovely views across the fields. We would very much love to return in the future.

August 7 – 14 2009. Dwainson and McMahon Families. Cheshire and Scotland.

What a wonderful place to have a big family holiday, beautiful accommodation, lovely views. The three girls (all under five) had great fun exploring and playing hide and seek within the house. We have been to North Devon many times and without doubt this is the best we have ever stayed in. Rebecca, Sophie and Zoe want to stay here forever, so if the next visitors find three little stowaways would they please return them ….

July 31 – August 7 2009. Judy Fluff and Family. Cambridgeshire.

The accommodation is to an extremely high standard and very clean. The tennis court and games room were very well used. It has formed a great base for exploring the wonderful Devon countryside. It was a delight to watch the swallows and house martins (a rare sight in the east of the country). Panoramic views from the patio were breath taking.

May 22 2009. The Millers, Martins and Bettlesworth’s. Hampshire, Dorset and Herts.

Lovely house, lovely place. We spent a great week catching up with friends, enjoying the surroundings and going out. We thought the house was super, the children really enjoyed the gardens and playgrounds. We had lovely weather and some not quite so good – can recommend Croyde Beach, Exmoor Zoo and Appledore. Thank you very much.

May 17 2009. The Morse Family. Wiltshire and Herts.

Nan and Granddad had a great surprised when they arrived to a house with so many en-suites to choose from! Little did they know the grandchildren and great grandchildren would turn up later to share the giant dining table. The house is fantastic, everyone was imagining living here for real. The location is perfect for large groups. Great access to local towns and villages. The rain came and paid a visit every day but that gave us a great reason to stay in and enjoy the house. Brilliant kitchen to entertain in too! Nice touch with the games room. Will try to book Christmas week one year in the future. Thank you for our stay.

May 15 2009. Barton, Coston, Corbishley, Field, Lilliot and Miles families. St. Albans, Herts.

What a truly fantastic house! It was absolutely perfect for a group of friends and six babies to enjoy a week together in such a stunning location. Everyone had a great time – and luckily we are all still friends and the babies had lots of fun!

May 8 2009. Simmonds Family. Essex.

What a fantastic place for a family get together. Excellent facilities and extremely helpful. Beautiful location and scenery – the web site doesn’t do it justice as panoramic views from the terrace are spectacular. Things we have enjoyed – walking or cycling the Tarka Trail, beaches – made a seventy years olds birthday special.